*Photo (from left to right); Out-going Chair: Mr George Lekakis AO,  MAV CEO: Jill Morgan AM, Minister Martin Foley, MAV Board Chair: Michael van Vliet.*

MAV appoints new Chair 2018 Michael van Vliet

“I am honoured to be elected as Chairperson of Multicultural Arts Victoria (MAV).  MAV has become one of our great cultural institutions through the hard work and passion of previous Chairs, Board and staff over the past 45 years. I am excited to lead the Board as we move into a new era with a new CEO who will be appointed in the very near future. MAV will continue to champion our culturally diverse artists and celebrate Victoria’s unique and vibrant arts culture.”
– Michael van Vliet

The out-going Chair Mr George Lekakis AO stated,
“Serving Multicultural Arts Victoria has been a great honour. However the baton of leadership needs to be passed on to those that will work towards fulfilling the future plans of MAV. I congratulate and wish the new Chairperson of MAV Michael van Vliet and his team all the very best in meeting the future challenges and maintaining the long legacy of supporting our community and artists.”

MAV plays a vital role and is central to ensuring individual artists and communities in a wide a range of creative fields are represented in the broader arts community and are able to showcase their work and talents.

Challenges before the organisation are our increased representation in arts. Even though currently there is more consciousness of cultural diversity in the arts, structural change is still needed to ensure greater representation in the sector.

Michael Van Vliet as Chair of Multicultural Arts Victoria is committed to ensuring structural change is a priority for Creative Industries in Victoria  for our artists and communities.

MAV Board Chair: Michael van Vliet, Deputy Chair: Huss Mustafa OAM, Deputy Chair: Symon Kohut, Secretary: Linda Petrone, Treasurer: Bayarkin Purevdorj , George Lekakis AO, Miriam Suss OAM, Hilary Bucumi, Carolina Aguilera de Snow Chidambaram Srinivasan